Common Criteria

The Common Criteria (CC) is an international program in which accredited laboratories test IT products against cyber security specifications for technology classes. Under the Common Criteria Recognition Arrangement (CCRA), all member countries agree to recognize each other's Common Criteria certificates, which allows developers to access the global marketplace regardless of where their product is certified.

Developers contract a testing laboratory to evaluate their product against a security specification, designed by a technical community, under a national certification body who performs technical oversight and publishes the result of the evaluation effort, which is internationally recognized.

The Cyber Centre operates the Canadian Common Criteria program to certify products.

The Cyber Centre recommends purchasing and deploying CC certified products because of:

  1. Independently verified security claims by accredited cyber security labs
  2. Collaboratively developed methodology and specifications
  3. A wide variety of certified products are available
  4. Using certified products reduces risk of compromise

Products list:

Common Criteria news/bulletins

Learn more about Common Criteria

Interested in learning more about Common Criteria? Please visit the International Common Criteria Website.

Would you like learn more from the Cyber Centre about Common Criteria? Please contact us.

Report a problem on this page

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified: