COMSEC

The Communications Security Establishment (CSE) is the lead security agency and national authority for Communications Security (COMSEC) in Canada. COMSEC refers to the application of cryptographic, transmission, emission and physical security measures, and operational practices and controls, to deny unauthorized access to information that comes from telecommunications and to ensure the authenticity of that telecommunications.


About COMSEC services

CSE provides COMSEC services to the Government of Canada departments and Canada’s private industry partners including:

  • approving, certifying, and providing cryptographic keys and equipment to secure the Government of Canada’s classified (up to TOP SECRET) and protected (up to PROTECTED C) information and data
  • developing the related COMSEC policy instruments for the management and control of cryptographic equipment
  • developing related service management procedures for the ordering, safeguarding and delivery of cryptographic key and equipment  in support of cryptographic solutions
  • providing advice and guidance on the management and security of cryptographic keys and equipment used to cryptographically secure a telecommunications network for classified and protected information
  • COMSEC devices

    The following is a list of the major families of devices that are approved by CSE:

    • Secure voice devices: includes wireline and wireless devices, which communicate over conventional telephone circuits, cellular or satellite-based networks.
    • Network encryptors: high-speed devices, which provide security services for Asynchronous Transfer Mode (ATM) and Internet Protocol (IP) networks by providing data confidentiality, integrity mechanisms, and authentication services.
    • Link encryptors: includes devices used to encrypt information at the data link layer during data transmission between two points within a network. Unlike network encryptors, link encryptors also provide traffic-flow security (i.e. the routing information is not transmitted in clear).
    • Secure remote access devices: refers to devices that allow users with laptops in remote locations to securely access centralized classified networks.
    • Hard disk encryptors: refers to hardware-based disk encryption devices.
    • Tier 3 management devices: refers to equipment that accepts, stores, and fills cryptographic key devices.
  • How to access COMSEC services

    Government departments

    CSE provides services and guidance to GC departments who require COMSEC solutions to protect their information.

    GC departments requiring COMSEC material must submit a request letter from their Chief Security Officer (CSO) to COMSEC Client Services to establish a COMSEC account.

    The request must include information such as:

    • a justification to hold COMSEC material
    • interoperability requirements
    • highest security classification of the COMSEC material and
    • statement that the minimum physical security standards are in place in accordance with Treasury Board Operational Security Standard on Physical Security
       

    GC departments must also appoint appropriate COMSEC personnel to manage their departmental COMSEC program:

    • a Departmental COMSEC Authority (DCA) may be appointed by the CSO to act in their stead to develop, implement, maintain, coordinate and monitor the departmental COMSEC program
    • a COMSEC custodian, who will be responsible for the generation, receipt, custody, distribution, disposition or destruction, and accounting of COMSEC material entrusted to their COMSEC Account or sub-account

    Private industry

    CSE provides direction to Canadian private sector clients regarding how to handle COMSEC material in support of a GC government contract. These must be sponsored by a GC department that has a current COMSEC account prior to acquiring cryptographic material.

    The private sector client requires a GC sponsor who is responsible for initiating coordination with the Cyber Centre. The sponsor is also responsible for seeking approval from COMSEC Client Services prior to providing any accountable cryptographic equipment to a Canadian private sector client. Such equipment is managed through the CSE Industrial COMSEC Account (CICA).

    More information can be found in the Directive for the Control of COMSEC Material in the Canadian Private Sector (ITSD-06A). For a copy of this document, please contact the Contact Centre.

  • Reporting COMSEC incidents

    A COMSEC incident is any occurrence that jeopardizes or potentially jeopardizes the security of COMSEC material, or the security of protected or classified information and data, whether it is being stored, processed, transmitted, or received during the telecommunications process.

    The National COMSEC Incident Office (NCIO) is responsible for providing final assessment and closure to all COMSEC incidents. Such incidents, suspected or confirmed, must be reported within 24 hours through your COMSEC Custodian to the DCA and to the CSO. The DCA must then report it to the NCIO.

    For more detailed information regarding COMSEC incidents, please refer to the Directive for Reporting and Evaluating Communications Security (COMSEC) Incidents (ITSD-05A) available on the COMSEC User Portal (CUP).

  • Directives and regulations

    Directives

    • IT Security Directive for the Control and Management of In-Process COMSEC Material (ITSD-08) (Only available inside the CUP) provides COMSEC practitioners with the minimum security requirements for the handling of COMSEC material where the normal accounting system is not possible because of board or component level integration activities.
    • IT Security Directive for Cryptographic Key Ordering (ITSD-09) (Only available inside the CUP) provides the minimum requirements for the ordering of cryptographic key from CSE to support CSE-approved cryptographic solutions.

    Regulations

    In addition to ITSDs, GCdepartments, enterprise services organizations, GC-sponsored Other Levels of Government (OLG) organizations, and GC-sponsored Canadian private sector companies requiring access to such COMSEC material must comply to both the Canadian Controlled Goods Program (CGP) and the United States (U.S.) International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR).

Contact the COMSEC team

Established COMSEC accounts can direct any COMSEC related inquiries to the Client Portfolio Manager or may access the CUP.

For any COMSEC related inquiries and have an established COMSEC account with CSE, please contact your Client Portfolio Manager or access the CUP.  For access to the CUP, please speak to your Departmental Custodial Office.

If you have a requirement to establish a COMSEC account with CSE, checkout the How to access COMSEC services section and contact the Contact Centre by email at contact@cyber.gc.ca for next steps.

Accessible only for COMSEC account holders.

Access COMSEC User Portal (CUP)

 

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

COMSEC

Le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) est le principal organisme responsable de la sécurité et l’autorité nationale en matière de sécurité des communications (COMSEC pour Communications Security) au Canada. La COMSEC renvoie à l’application de mesures de sécurité cryptographique, de sécurité des transmissions et des émissions, et de sécurité physique, ainsi que de pratiques et de mécanismes de contrôle opérationnels, visant à empêcher tout accès non autorisé à l’information issue de télécommunications et à garantir l’authenticité de ces télécommunications.


À propos des services COMSEC

Le CST propose des services COMSEC aux ministères du gouvernement du Canada et à des partenaires du secteur privé canadien, notamment :

  • Approuver, certifier et offrir de l’équipement et des clés cryptographiques afin de protéger l’information et les données classifiées (jusqu’au niveau TRÈS SECRET) et protégées (jusqu’à PROTÉGÉ C) du gouvernement du Canada;
  • Élaborer les instruments de politique COMSEC connexes visant à contrôler et à gérer l’équipement cryptographique;
  • Définir des procédures de gestion des services visant la commande, la protection et la livraison de l’équipement et des clés cryptographiques pour appuyer les solutions cryptographiques approuvées par le CST;
  • Fournir des avis et des conseils sur la gestion et la sécurité de l’équipement et des clés cryptographiques utilisés pour protéger un réseau de télécommunications où transite de l’information classifiée et protégée.
  • Dispositifs COMSEC

    Voici une liste des principales familles de dispositifs que le CST approuve :

    • Dispositifs cryptophoniques : comprend les dispositifs filaires et sans fil qui communiquent au moyen de réseaux téléphoniques conventionnels, satellitaires ou cellulaires.
    • Crypteurs réseau : comprend les dispositifs à grande vitesse qui procurent des services de confidentialité des données, d’intégrité et d’authentification pour les réseaux MTA (mode de transfert asynchrone) et IP (pour Internet Protocol ou protocole Internet).
    • Crypteurs de liaison : comprend les dispositifs servant à chiffrer l’information au niveau de la couche liaison de données durant la transmission de données entre deux points d’un réseau. Contrairement aux crypteurs réseau, les crypteurs de liaison assurent également la confidentialité du trafic (c.-à-d. l’information de routage n’est pas transmise en clair).
    • Dispositifs d’accès à distance sécurisé : comprend les dispositifs qui permettent aux utilisateurs d’ordinateurs portables situés à des emplacements éloignés d’accéder de manière sécurisée à des réseaux classifiés centralisés.
    • Crypteurs de disque dur : comprend les dispositifs matériels de chiffrement de disque dur.
    • Dispositif de gestion de palier 3 : comprend l’équipement qui accepte, stocke et charge les clés cryptographiques.
  • Comment accéder aux services COMSEC

    Ministères fédéraux

    Le CST offre des services et des conseils aux ministères du GC qui ont recours à des solutions COMSEC afin de protéger leur information.

    Pour obtenir du matériel COMSEC, le dirigeant principal de la sécurité (DPS) du ministère doit soumettre une demande sous forme de lettre aux Services à la clientèle en matière de COMSEC afin d’établir un compte COMSEC.

    La demande doit contenir l’information suivante :

    • une justification du besoin de détenir du matériel COMSEC;
    • les exigences en matière d’interopérabilité;
    • le niveau de classification de sécurité le plus élevé du matériel COMSEC;
    • un énoncé stipulant que les normes de sécurité matérielle minimales ont été mises en place conformément à la Directive sur la gestion de la sécurité du Conseil du Trésor.

    Les ministères du GC doivent également nommer le personnel COMSEC nécessaire pour gérer leur programme COMSEC ministériel :

    • Le DPS peut nommer une autorité COMSEC du ministère (ACM) pour concevoir, mettre en œuvre, maintenir, coordonner et superviser en son nom le programme COMSEC du ministère;
    • Un gardien COMSEC qui est responsable de la génération, de la réception, de la garde, de la distribution, de la disposition ou de la destruction, et de la comptabilité du matériel COMSEC porté à son compte ou sous-compte COMSEC.

    Secteur privé

    Le CST donne de l’orientation aux clients du secteur privé canadien concernant le traitement du matériel COMSEC dans le cadre d’un contrat avec le GC. Ces derniers doivent être parrainés par un ministère du GC qui possède un compte COMSEC en règle avant d’avoir accès au matériel cryptographique.

    Le client du secteur privé doit être parrainé par un organisme du GC qui assumera la coordination avec le Centre pour la cybersécurité. Le parrain doit également solliciter l’approbation des Services à la clientèle en matière de COMSEC avant de fournir de l’équipement cryptographique comptable à un client du secteur privé canadien. La gestion de ce type d’équipement se fait par l’intermédiaire du Compte COMSEC industriel du CST (CCIC).

    Vous trouverez plus d’information dans la Directive en matière de sécurité des TI sur le contrôle du matériel COMSEC au sein des entreprises du secteur privé canadien (ITSD-06A). Veuillez communiquer avec le centre d’appel pour obtenir une copie de ce document.

  • Signaler les incidents COMSEC

    Par « incident COMSEC », on entend toute occurrence qui met en péril ou pourrait mettre en péril la sécurité du matériel COMSEC ou la sécurité de l’information et des données protégées ou classifiées alors qu’elles sont stockées, traitées, transmises ou reçues dans le cadre du processus de télécommunications.

    Le Bureau national des incidents COMSEC (BNIC) est responsable de l’évaluation définitive et de la fermeture de tous les incidents COMSEC. Le gardien COMSEC doit signaler tout incident soupçonné ou confirmé à l’ACM et au DPS dans les 24 heures suivantes. L’ACM doit alors le signaler au BNIC.

    Pour en savoir plus sur les incidents COMSEC, veuillez vous reporter à la Directive en matière de sécurité des TI sur le signalement et l’évaluation des incidents COMSEC touchant le matériel COMSECcomptable (ITSD-05A), accessible sur le Portail de l’utilisateur COMSEC (PUC).

  • Directives et règlements relatifs à la COMSEC

    Directives

    • La Directive en matière de sécurité des TI sur le contrôle et la gestion du matériel COMSEC en cours de réalisation (ITSD-08) (disponible seulement dans le PUC)présente aux praticiens COMSEC les exigences de sécurité minimales en matière de traitement du matériel COMSEC qu’il faut respecter lorsqu’il est impossible d’utiliser le système de comptabilité habituel compte tenu des activités d’intégration des composants ou des cartes.
    • La Directive en matière de sécurité des TI sur la commande de clés cryptographiques (ITSD-09) (disponible seulement dans le PUC) établit les exigences minimales visant la commande, auprès du CST, des clés cryptographiques nécessaires au soutien des solutions cryptographiques approuvées par ce dernier.

    Règlements

    En plus des directives en matière de sécurité des TI, les ministères du GC, les organisations de services intégrés (OSI), les organisations des autres ordres de gouvernement et les entreprises du secteur privé canadien parrainées par le GC qui ont besoin d’un tel accès à du matériel COMSEC doivent se conformer au Programme des marchandises contrôlées (PMC) du Canada, ainsi qu’aux International Traffic in Arms Regulations (en anglais seulement) (ITAR) des États-Unis.

Communiquer avec l’équipe COMSEC

Les membres du personnel de comptes COMSEC existants peuvent diriger toute demande relative à la COMSEC au gestionnaire de portefeuille client ou accéder au PUC.

Pour toute demande relative à la COMSEC si vous avez déjà un compte COMSEC auprès du CST, veuillez communiquer avec votre gestionnaire de portefeuille client ou accéder au PUC.
Pour accéder au PUC, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau ministériel de garde.

Si vous devez créer un compte COMSEC auprès du CST, consulter la rubrique Comment accéder aux services COMSEC et communiquez avec le centre d’appel par couriel au contact@cyber.gc.ca pour connaître les prochaines étapes.

Accessible seulement aux titulaires de compte.

Accéder au Portail de l’utilisateur COMSEC (PUC)

 

Signaler un problème ou une erreur sur cette page
Veuillez sélectionner toutes les cases qui s'appliquent :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, contactez-nous.

Date de modification :